Loading Events

« All Events

Lure (Open Studio)

13 November @ 18:00 - 22:00

In dialogue with a learning machine: an exploration of music, interactive theatre and live performance through Artificial Intelligence

A curious and creative character awakens. Developed inside a computer it yearns to learn. You meet it in our performance. It wants to know more about you and starts a conversation. It attempts expression in an intimate play with a musician. And it leaves the space to explore the world on its own.

In our open studio we invite you to a playful and interactive session with music, performance and collective discovery. You’ll be able to interact with our character Parzival.ai, a Machine Learning model created after Parzival, the medieval adventurer.

With our technical prototypes we study three different artistic approaches: Develop empathy with the computational character by discovering how it learns. Experience its inner workings through theatrical expression. And be touched by its musical sensitivity.

The artistic research project “Lure” transfers questions on the topics of human–machine interaction and Artificial Intelligence to the fields of theatre and music. In November we will open our studio and show our first technical prototypes and artistic steps as work-in-progress, at Pathos Theater in Munich.

“Lure” is a project of Munich composer and theatre maker Mathis Nitschke, Amsterdam interactive artists Klasien van de Zandschulp and Luciano Pinna, Volkswagen Group machine-learning scientists Patrick van der Smagt, Djalel Benbouzid and Nutan Chen (argmax.ai) and Munich dramaturg Elsa Büsing.

“Lure” is funded and supported by the Dutch Creative Industries Fund NL, the German Fonds Darstellende Künste, and the Volkswagen Group Machine Learning Research Lab.

Details:

11.11.2020, 23h, Deutsches Museum, at the 1E9 Conference

13.11.2020, 18h, Pathos Theater, English/German version

13.11.2020, 20h, Pathos Theater, English version

 

Details

Date:
13 November
Time:
18:00 - 22:00

Lade Veranstaltungen

« Alle Veranstaltungen

Lure (Open Studio)

13 November @ 18:00 - 22:00

Im Dialog mit einer lernenden Maschine: eine Erkundung von Musik, interaktivem Theater und Live-Performance durch künstliche Intelligenz

Eine neugierige und kreative Figur erwacht. Im Inneren eines Computers entwickelt, sehnt sie sich danach, zu lernen. Als Zuschauer begegnen Sie ihr in unserer Werkstattperformance: Die Computerfigur will mehr über Sie erfahren und beginnt ein Gespräch. Sie versucht sich in einem intimen Zusammenspiel mit einem Musiker auszudrücken. Und sie verlässt den Raum, um die Welt auf eigene Faust zu erkunden.

In unserem offenen Studio laden wir Sie zu einer spielerischen und interaktiven Begegnung mit Musik, Performance und kollektiver Entdeckung ein. Sie werden mit unserer Figur Parzival.ai interagieren können, einem KI-Modell, das nach dem mittelalterlichen Abenteurer Parzival geschaffen wurde.

Mit unseren technischen Prototypen untersuchen wir drei verschiedene künstlerische Ansätze: Können Sie Empathie mit einer rechnergestützten Figur entwickeln, indem Sie erfahren, wie sie lernt? Können Sie sein Innenleben durch theatralischen Ausdruck erleben? Und lassen Sie sich von seiner musikalischen Sensibilität berühren?

Das künstlerische Forschungsprojekt „Lure“ (Verlockung) überträgt Fragen zu den Themen Mensch-Maschine-Interaktion und Künstlicher Intelligenz auf die Bereiche Theater und Musik. Im November werden wir im Münchner Pathos Theater unser Studio öffnen und erste technische Prototypen und künstlerische Schritte als Work-in-Progress zeigen.

„Lure“ ist ein Projekt des Münchner Komponisten und Theatermachers Mathis Nitschke, der Amsterdamer Interaktionskünstler Klasien van de Zandschulp und Luciano Pinna, der KI-Wissenschaftler der Volkswagen-Gruppe Patrick van der Smagt, Djalel Benbouzid und Nutan Chen (argmax.ai) und der Münchner Dramaturgin Elsa Büsing.

„Lure“ wird finanziert und unterstützt durch den niederländischen Creative Industries Fund NL, den deutschen Fonds Darstellende Künste und das Volkswagen Group Machine Learning Research Lab.

Details:

11.11.2020, 23h, Deutsches Museum, at the 1E9 Conference

13.11.2020, 18h, Pathos Theater, English/German version

13.11.2020, 20h, Pathos Theater, English version

Details

Datum:
13 November
Zeit:
18:00 - 22:00
Veranstaltungskategorie: