With the free app “INSIDE MPHIL – St. Nikolai” you can experience the Munich Philharmonic Orchestra virtually on the meadow behind the church of St. Nikolai near the Munich Gasteig as if the musicians were set up there. With the GPS-connected smartphone and headphones you can enter the orchestra acoustically and hear the instruments as if you were standing next to them, just as the musicians hear themselves and their colleagues: the violins, the oboe, the timpani or whatever you want to hear. This is made possible by the sophisticated smartphone app by sound designer Mathis Nitschke and violist Gunter Pretzel.

Philhamonie im Gasteig vor dem KonzertYou can listen to a recording of the fourth movement of the Spring Symphony by Robert Schumann, recorded with the Munich Philharmonic in March 2019 under the baton of Pablo Heras-Casado.

Technical requirements

Smartphone (Android: from Samsung Galaxy S7 or similar / iOS: from iPhone SE) and headphones. Download the app “INSIDE MPHIL – St. Nikolai” from the Google Play Store or Apple App Store in advance.

The download links will soon be available here.

Where does “Inside MPhil – St. Nikolai” play?

The church St. Nikolai is located in Haidhausen, Munich, in the immediate neighbourhood of the Gasteig. The meadow where the virtual orchestra plays can be found, coming from the Gasteig, on the back side of the church, between the church and the children’s playground. You can also use this Google Link: https://goo.gl/maps/jBb8xeQX3WYYCnB59

The technology

At the heart of the app are the Spatial Sound algorithms from Dear Reality. The so called synthetic binauralization locates sound sources in the headphones coming from all directions of the three-dimensional space around the head. In other words, you can not only control whether you hear the sound from the right or left, but also from the front or the back or up or down.

Producer Johannes Müller and sound engineer Christoph Bley

Orchestras are recorded next to the main microphones with many spot microphones close to the musicians. We take all these spot microphones for the app and distribute them geographically on the meadow. You then move as a walking listener through these spot microphones, whereby all instruments can be heard by synthetic binauralization from the right direction at the right place. Your smartphone plays a total of 22 tracks, all through these HRTF filters. It’s really amazing what today’s smartphones can do.

Mathis Nitschke in conversation with conductor Pablo Heras-Casado testing the alpha prototype (Photo: Melanie Lechmann)

Artistic research with the Munich Symphonic Orchestra

Basis for this app are some research projects with the Munich Symphonic Orchestra, read about them here >>>

Are there any other related works?


www.vergehen.net

Vergehen is an opera that you walk.

Related

Mit der kostenlosen App „INSIDE MPHIL — St. Nikolai“ erleben Sie die Münchner Philharmoniker virtuell auf der Wiese hinter der Kirche St. Nikolai nahe des Münchner Gasteigs so, als wären die Musiker dort aufgestellt. Mit dem GPS-verbundenen Smartphone und einem Kopfhörer können Sie klanglich in das Orchester hineingehen und dabei die Instrumente so hören, als würden Sie unmittelbar neben ihnen stehen, genau so, wie die Musiker sich selbst und ihre Kollegen hören: die Geigen, die Oboe, die Pauken oder was immer Sie gerade hören wollen. Möglich macht das die raffinierte Smartphone-App von Sounddesigner Mathis Nitschke und Bratschist Gunter Pretzel.

Philhamonie im Gasteig vor dem KonzertZu hören ist eine Aufnahme des vierten Satzes der Frühlingssymphonie von Robert Schumann, aufgenommen mit den Münchner Philharmonikern im März 2019 unter der Leitung von Pablo Heras-Casado.

Technische Vorraussetzungen

Smartphone (Android: ab Samsung Galaxy S7 o.ä. / iOS: ab iPhone SE) und Kopfhörer. Laden Sie sich die App „INSIDE MPHIL — St. Nikolai“ im Google Play Store bzw. Apple App Store am besten schon vorab herunter.

Die Downloadlinks sind demnächst hier zu finden.

Wo spielt „Inside MPhil – St. Nikolai“?

Die Kirche St. Nikolai befindet sich in Haidhausen, München, in unmittelbarer Nähe des Gasteig. Die Wiese, auf der das virtuelle Orchester spielt, finden Sie dann, vom Gasteig kommend, auf der hinteren Seite der Kirche, zwischen Kirche und Kinderspielplatz. Nutzen Sie auch diesen Google Link: https://goo.gl/maps/jBb8xeQX3WYYCnB59

Die Technik

Herzstück der App sind die Spatial Sound Algorithmen von Dear Reality. Über die sog. synthetische Binauralisation werden damit Klangquellen im Kopfhörer aus allen Richtungen des dreidimensionalen Raums kommend um den Kopf herum verortet. Sprich: man kann nicht nur steuern, ob Sie den Klang von rechts oder links hören, sondern auch von vorne oder hinten oder oben oder unten.

Aufnahmeleiter Johannes Müller und Toningenieur Christoph Bley

Orchester werden neben dem Hauptmikrofon mit vielen Stützmikrofonen nahe der Musiker aufgenommen. Wir nehmen für die App all diese Stützen und verteilen Sie geographisch auf der Wiese. Sie bewegen sich dann als gehender Hörer durch diese Stützmikrofone hindurch, wobei alle Instrumente per synthetischer Binauralisation aus der richtigen Richtung an der richtigen Stelle zu hören sind. Insgesamt spielt Ihr Smartphone 22 Spuren ab, alle über diese sog. HRTF-Filter. Es ist wirklich erstaunlich, was heutige Smartphones zu leisten vermögen.

Mathis Nitschke im Gespräch mit Dirigent Pablo Heras-Casado beim Testen des Alpha-Prototyps (Foto: Melanie Lechmann)

Künstlerische Forschung mit den Münchner Symphonikern

Dieser App zugrunde liegen mehrere Forschungsprojekte mit den Münchner Symphoniker, nachzulesen hier >>>

Gibt es weitere verwandte Arbeiten?


www.vergehen.net

Vergehen ist eine Oper, die man sich erläuft.

Related