ISOLDE

Opera installation in public space by Mathis Nitschke

Thomas Jonigk (Libretto), Martina Koppelstetter (Isolde), Klaus-Peter Werani (Viola), Katharina Dobner (Costume)

World premiere 8 to 12 July 2019, Kunsthalle München,

The pedestrian zone in front of the Kunsthalle Munich: There, a homeless person appears in the midst of lustfully shopping, well dressed people. In the hopelessness of her existence, she transfigures everything ordinary into art. Sounds from her memory fit into an orchestration of the urban sound space. Everything she hears becomes a global song in which, like Wagner’s Isolde, she finds redemption through death and resurrection in love.

Similar to Viola and Katharina, the audience sits in the entrance area of the Kunsthalle after closing time, with a view through the glass panes onto the pedestrian zone. With the help of transducers, the windows become a sounding membrane that connects the inside with the outside.

The music is based on motifs and excerpts from works by Richard Wagner (Liebestod, Im Treibhaus). In addition, “Volte-Face” for solo viola by Georges Aperghis can be heard, with the kind permission of the composer.

In the context of FREQUENZEN – Acoustic Dimensions of the City: www.muenchen.de/frequenzen

With the kind support of:

Resonance

Blog: „A moment of art of living“

Romantisation and dissection of our reality: “…at the same time we are made aware of the fact that we all too often do not want to see the other side of prosperity, poverty, loneliness, social inequality, especially in Munich, we surround ourselves with bulletproof glass ‘in order not to break’, as a passer-by remarked.” Elsa Büsing about ISOLDE in my Blog

Press

„The fact that you just sit here is already a sensation.“ Egbert Tholl in the Süddeutsche Zeitung

„If you want to lose the fear of the concept and the form of performance, you should expose yourself to “Isolde”.“ Robert Braunmüller in the Abendzeitung

Audience reactions:

“It was a totally strange feeling to sit in the window and watch a homeless person – really sad. But above all the feeling when passers-by realized we were watching a homeless person, that was really strange! What did they think?! “

“ISOLDE has touched me personally and moved me deeply. Questions arose that kept me busy for a few days. Thank you for that.”

 

Prehistory

When Isolde appears in front of the Munich Kunsthalle, this is a situation in itself. But it can also be seen as a development from the previous pieces “Viola” and “Katharina”:

“Is that now inside or outside? Is it still yesterday today,” Viola asked on Pasing station square, an apparently sad and disoriented woman. She seemed to be in shock, to have lost touch with time and space. “Viola” premiered in 2015 as part of the “Pasing by” art festival in Munich-Pasing. “its simple yet bold conception was remarkably effective, blurring boundaries between audience and performer to provocative effect,” wrote The Scotsman about the guest performance in Glasgow in 2017.

Some excerpts from “Viola”:

 

At Münchner Freiheit, Katharina sat in the street for the first time, in the midst of loudly roaring drunken tourists, laughing school classes and trams and buses permanently circling around her. Above this permanently high stress level of the Leopoldstraße she fought against being forgotten and developed extreme, nasty energies. The Süddeutsche Zeitung described the premiere in 2016 as a “grandiosely disturbing performance”.

Some excerpts from “Katharina”:

Related

ISOLDE

Opernperformance im öffentlichen Raum von Mathis Nitschke

Mit: Martina Koppelstetter (Isolde), Klaus-Peter Werani (Bratschist), Thomas Jonigk (Libretto), Katharina Dobner (Kostüm)

Uraufführung 8. bis 12. Juli 2019, Kunsthalle München

Die Fußgängerzone vor der Kunsthalle München: Dort taucht eine Obdachlose auf, inmitten lustvoll shoppender, gut gekleideter Menschen. In der Hoffnungslosigkeit ihrer Existenz verklärt sie alles Gewöhnliche zu Kunst. Geräusche aus ihrer Erinnerung fügen sich ein in eine Orchestrierung des urbanen Klangraums. Alles, was sie hört, wird zu einem weltumfassenden Gesang, in dem sie wie Wagners Isolde Erlösung durch Tod und Wiederauferstehung in der Liebe findet.

Ähnlich wie schon bei Viola und Katharina sitzt das Publikum nach Kassenschluss im Eingangsbereich der Kunsthalle, mit Blick durch die Glasscheiben auf die Fußgängerzone. Mithilfe von Körperschallwandlern werden die Fenster zur klingenden Membran, die das Innen mit dem Außen verbindet.

Die Musik basiert auf Motiven und Ausschnitten aus Werken von Richard Wagner (Liebestod, Im Treibhaus). Zusätzlich erklingt „Volte-Face“ für Bratsche solo von Georges Aperghis, mit freundlicher Genehmigung des Komponisten.

Im Rahmen von FREQUENZEN – Akustische Dimensionen der Stadt: www.muenchen.de/frequenzen

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von:

Resonanz

Blog: „Ein Moment Lebenskunst“

Romantisierung und Sezierung unserer Wirklichkeit: „…es wird uns gleichzeitig auch vor Augen geführt, dass wir die Kehrseite des Wohlstandes, Armut, Einsamkeit, soziale Ungleichheit, gerade in München, allzu oft nicht sehen (wollen), uns mit Panzerglas umgeben ‚um nicht kaputt zu gehen‘, wie eine Passantin bemerkte.“ Elsa Büsing zu ISOLDE in meinem Blog

Presse

„Schon dass man einfach hier sitzt, ist eine Sensation.“ Egbert Tholl in der SZ

„Wer ganz zwanglos die Furcht vor dem Begriff und der Form der Performance verlieren will, sollte sich „Isolde“ aussetzen.“ Robert Braunmüller in der AZ

Zuschauerreaktionen:

„Es war ein total seltsames Gefühl, im Schaufenster zu sitzen und einer Obdachlosen zu zuschauen – wirklich traurig. Vor allem aber das Gefühl, wenn Passanten realisiert haben, wir schauen einer Obdachlosen zu, das war wirklich strange! Was die wohl gedacht haben?! “

„ISOLDE hat mich persönlich sehr ergriffen und tief bewegt. Fragen sind in mir aufgekommen, die mich noch einige Tage beschäftigt haben. Ich danke Ihnen dafür.“

 

Vorgeschichte

Wenn Isolde vor der Münchner Kunsthalle erscheint, dann ist das eine Situation für sich. Man kann sie aber auch als Entwicklung aus den vorausgegangenen Stücken „Viola“ und „Katharina“ sehen:

„Ist das jetzt Innen oder Außen? Ist heute noch gestern?“, fragte Viola auf dem Pasinger Bahnhofplatz, eine offenbar traurige und desorientierte Frau. Sie schien unter Schock zu stehen, den Bezug zu Zeit und Raum verloren zu haben. „Viola“ wurde 2015 im Rahmen des „Pasing by“ Kunstfestivals in der Bahnhofapotheke Pasing uraufgeführt. „Seine einfache, aber mutige Konzeption war bemerkenswert effektiv und verwischte die Grenzen zwischen Publikum und Darsteller mit provokativer Wirkung.“, schrieb The Scotsman über das Gastspiel in Glasgow in 2017.

Einige Ausschnitte aus „Viola“:

 

An der Münchner Freiheit saß Katharina zum ersten Mal auf der Straße, inmitten laut grölender betrunkener Touristen, lachender Schulklassen und permanent um sie herum kreisenden Tram­bahnen und Bussen. Über diesem permanent hohen Stresspegel der Leopoldstraße kämpfte sie gegen das Vergessenwerden an und entwickelte darüber extreme, gehässige Energien. Als „grandios-verstörende Vorstellung“ beschrieb die Süddeutsche Zeitung die Uraufführung in 2016.

Einige Ausschnitte aus „Katharina“:

Related