“Pension Schöller”, in a version by Thomas Jonigk – freely adapted from the comedy by Wilhelm Jacoby and Carl Laufs.

Staatstheater Kassel, premiere July 2, 2021

Alfred Klapproth needs money. His uncle, the landowner Philipp Klapproth, offers it to him – but not without something in return. The uncle has traveled to Berlin especially to attend the soirée of a mental hospital – and to experience “real lunatics” for once. The nephew, however, lacks the appropriate contacts and so he promptly declares the Pension Schöller, including its eccentric guests, to be an insane asylum with associated patients. Much to his uncle’s delight, he has a great time and immerses himself voyeuristically in the general madness. With fatal consequences – because: “to consider oneself completely normal is the mildest form of insanity” …
The premiere of Pension Schöller took place in Berlin in 1890, was filmed several times and has since regularly caused tears in the theater, of course with laughter. Thomas Jonigk subjects the play to a fundamental adaptation and transports the supposedly harmless comedy into our Federal Republic reality, in which the boundaries between delusion, grotesquerie, nightmare and political everyday life can often no longer be drawn.

 

PHILIPP KLAPPROTH – Bernd Hölscher
ALFRED KLAPPROTH – Konstantin Marsch
ULRIKE SCHÖLLER – Christina Weiser
AMALIE PFEIFFER, her sister-in-law – Jürgen Wink
IDA, Amalie’s daughter – Alexandra Lukas
FRIEDERIKE, twin sister of Ida – Sandro Šutalo
FRITZ BERNHARDY, an exterminator – Artur Spannagel
GRÖBER, a policeman – Stephan Schäfer
EUGEN RÜMPEL, a budding actor – Meret Engelhardt
WAITER 1, WAITER 2, WAITRESS – Stephan Schäfer | Artur Spannagel || Christina Weiser
A RAT – Yorick Tortochaux

INSTRUCTION -Thomas Jonigk
STAGE AND COSTUME -Ric Schachtebeck
MUSIC – Mathis Nitschke
LIGHTING – Oskar Bosmann
DRAMATURGY – Petra Schiller
DIRECTORIAL ASSISTANCE AND EVENING PERFORMANCE – Yorick Tortochaux
stage design assistant – Sibylle Pfeiffer
COSTUME ASSISTANCE – Ariella Karatolou | Isabell Heinke
INSPICIENCY – Susanne Bien
SOUFFLAGE – Cornelia Orphal

MUSIC USED Robert Schuhmann: Die Stille | Friedrich Glück: In einem kühlen Grunde | Hugo Wolf: Heimweh | Johannes Brahms: Heimweh | All lyrics are by Joseph von Eichendorff || Johann Sebastian Bach: Recitativo from Nun kommt der Helden Heiland

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

You may also like

„Pension Schöller“, in einer Fassung von Thomas Jonigk – frei nach dem Lustspiel von Wilhelm Jacoby und Carl Laufs

Staatstheater Kassel, Uraufführung 2. Juli 2021

Alfred Klapproth braucht Geld. In Aussicht gestellt wird es ihm von seinem Onkel, dem Gutsbesitzer Philipp Klapproth – allerdings nicht ohne Gegenleistung. Der Onkel ist extra nach Berlin gereist, um an der Soirée einer Nervenheilanstalt teilzunehmen – und einmal »echte Irre« zu erleben. Dem Neffen fehlen allerdings die entsprechenden Kontakte und so erklärt er prompt die Pension Schöller samt ihrer exzentrischen Gäste zur Irrenanstalt mit zugehörigen Patient*innen. Sehr zur Freude des Onkels, der amüsiert sich nämlich prächtig und taucht voyeuristisch in den allgemeinen Irrsinn ein. Mit fatalen Folgen – denn: »sich für völlig normal zu halten, ist die mildeste Form des Verrücktseins« …
Die Uraufführung von Pension Schöller fand 1890 in Berlin statt, wurde mehrfach verfilmt und sorgt seither regelmäßig für Tränen im Theater, natürlich vor Lachen. Thomas Jonigk unterzieht das Stück einer grundsätzlichen Bearbeitung und verfrachtet das vermeintlich harmlose Lustspiel in unsere bundesrepublikanische Realität, in der die Grenzen zwischen Wahn, Groteske, Alptraum und politischem Alltag oft nicht mehr zu ziehen sind.

 

PHILIPP KLAPPROTH  – Bernd Hölscher
ALFRED KLAPPROTH – Konstantin Marsch
ULRIKE SCHÖLLER – Christina Weiser
AMALIE PFEIFFER, ihre Schwägerin – Jürgen Wink
IDA, Amalies Tochter – Alexandra Lukas
FRIEDERIKE, Zwillingsschwester von Ida – Sandro Šutalo
FRITZ BERNHARDY, ein Kammerjäger – Artur Spannagel
GRÖBER, ein Polizist – Stephan Schäfer
EUGEN RÜMPEL, ein angehender Schauspieler – Meret Engelhardt
KELLNER 1, KELLNER 2, KELLNERIN – Stephan Schäfer | Artur Spannagel || Christina Weiser
EINE RATTE – Yorick Tortochaux

INSZENIERUNG -Thomas Jonigk
BÜHNE UND KOSTÜM -Ric Schachtebeck
MUSIK – Mathis Nitschke
LICHT – Oskar Bosmann
DRAMATURGIE – Petra Schiller
REGIEASSISTENZ UND ABENDSPIELLEITUNG – Yorick Tortochaux
BÜHNENBILDASSISTENZ – Sibylle Pfeiffer
KOSTÜMASSISTENZ – Ariella Karatolou | Isabell Heinke
INSPIZIENZ – Susanne Bien
SOUFFLAGE – Cornelia Orphal

VERWENDETE MUSIK Robert Schuhmann: Die Stille | Friedrich Glück: In einem kühlen Grunde | Hugo Wolf: Heimweh | Johannes Brahms: Heimweh | Alle Texte stammen von Joseph von Eichendorff || Johann Sebastian Bach: Rezitativo aus Nun kommt der Helden Heiland

You may also like