sound designer, composer, director
Category:

xt

Brother Eichmann

"In 1961, Adolf Eichmann, the planner and organizer of the Holocaust, was sentenced to death by hanging in Jerusalem. In one of the most highly regarded trials of the post-war period, unbearable details about the National Socialist extermination machinery and its perpetrators come to light for the world public, because the defendant talks. Music and Sounddesign for the staging by Thomas Jonigk at the Schauspiel Köln.

Pension Schöller

The first performance of Pension Schöller took place in Berlin in 1890, was filmed several times and has since regularly caused tears in the theater, of course with laughter. Thomas Jonigk undertakes a fundamental reworking of the play and transports the supposedly harmless comedy into our Federal Republic reality, where the boundaries between delusion, grotesqueness, nightmare and political everyday life can often no longer be drawn. Staatstheater Kassel, premiere July 2, 2021

MLure.art

Most of my current blogging is happening here at the moment: https://MLure.art is a new central blog covering artistic research projects related to Machine Learning (= Artificial Intelligence) in theatre and music.

Analog Neural Synthesis

Already in 1990, musical experiments with analog neural networks have been made. David Tudor, a major figure in the New York experimental music scene, collaborated with Intel to build the very first analog neural synthesizer.

Sound Mix Concert Video Duo2KW

I did the sound mixing for this concert video with very unusual music. DUO2KW with Klaus-Peter Werani, viola, and Kai Wangler, accordion, have produced their corona-canceled concert in the schweres reiter for the online stream and address the audience directly in the stream with the composers. Compositions by Morton Feldman, Sidney Corbett, Harald Lillmeyer, Stefan Prins and Philipp Mayer (UA) can be heard and seen. An arc is drawn from the "New York School" (Morton Feldman) to contemporary composition with various forms of electronics and playback (Prins and Mayer).

Mephisto

Klaus Mann outlined in his novel the timeless dancing on the volcano and the fall of the glamorous. A panorama of his contemporaries, the artists and intellectuals, children of the gods of the Golden Twenties, who did not want to give up their ecstasy even when swastikas were already flying over Babylon. But above all, the text is a portrait of a famous actor: Gustaf Gründgens. Staging by Thomas Jonigk at the Staatstheater Kassel.

Sounddesigner, Komponist, Regisseur
Kategorie:

xt

Bruder Eichmann

»Tod durch den Strang« lautet 1961 in Jerusalem das Urteil gegen Adolf Eichmann, den Planer und Organisator des Holocaust. In einem der meist beachteten Gerichtsprozesse der Nachkriegszeit kommen unerträgliche Details über die nationalsozialistische Vernichtungsmaschinerie und deren Täter*innen ans Licht der Weltöffentlichkeit, denn der Angeklagte redet. Musik und Sounddesign für die Inszenierung von Thomas Jonigk am Schauspiel Köln.

Pension Schöller

Die Uraufführung von Pension Schöller fand 1890 in Berlin statt, wurde mehrfach verfilmt und sorgt seither regelmäßig für Tränen im Theater, natürlich vor Lachen. Thomas Jonigk unterzieht das Stück einer grundsätzlichen Bearbeitung und verfrachtet das vermeintlich harmlose Lustspiel in unsere bundesrepublikanische Realität, in der die Grenzen zwischen Wahn, Groteske, Alptraum und politischem Alltag oft nicht mehr zu ziehen sind. Staatstheater Kassel, Uraufführung 2. Juli 2021

MLure.art

Die meisten meiner aktuellen Blogging-Aktivitäten finden derzeit hier statt: https://MLure.art ist ein neuer zentraler Blog, der sich mit künstlerischen Forschungsprojekten zum maschinellen Lernen (= Künstliche Intelligenz) in Theater und Musik befasst.

Analoge Neuralsynthese

Bereits 1990 wurden musikalische Experimente mit analogen neuronalen Netzwerken durchgeführt. David Tudor, eine wichtige Figur in der New Yorker experimentellen Musikszene, arbeitete mit Intel zusammen, um den allerersten analogen neuronalen Synthesizer zu bauen.

Mischung Konzertfilm Duo2KW

Ich übernahm die Mischung für dieses Konzertvideo mit sehr außergewöhnlicher Musik. DUO2KW mit Klaus-Peter Werani, Viola, und Kai Wangler, Akkordeon, haben ihr coronabedingt abgesagtes Konzert im schwere reiter für den Online-Stream produziert und wenden sich im Stream mit den Komponisten direkt an das Publikum. Zu hören und zu sehen sind Kompositionen von Morton Feldman, Sidney Corbett, Harald Lillmeyer, Stefan Prins und Philipp Mayer (UA). Dabei wird ein Bogen von der "New York School" (Morton Feldman) bis zum aktuellen Komponieren mit verschiedenen Formen von Elektronik und Zuspielung (Prins und Mayer) geschlagen.

Mephisto

Klaus Mann umriss in seinem Roman das zeitlose Tanzen auf dem Vulkan und den Sündenfall der Glamourösen. Ein Panorama seiner Zeitgenoss*innen, der Künstler*innen und Intellektuellen, Götterkinder der Goldenen Zwanziger, die vom Rausch auch nicht lassen wollten, als bereits Hakenkreuze über Babylon wehten. Vor allem aber ist der Text Porträt eines berühmten Schauspielers: Gustaf Gründgens. Inszenierung von Thomas Jonigk am Staatstheater Kassel.