In 1733, two important personalities worked together: Voltaire, the brightest thinker of his time, and Rameau, the greatest composer. Together they wanted to reform the art of opera and created the opera “Samson” based on the biblical story. However, the libretto was considered offensive and censored, and the music was lost. Only fragments later reappeared in other works.

In the air, sounds hover and swirl like ominous birds, infrabass and the light tinkling of aeolian bamboo deployed by sound designer Mathis Nitschke. (Le Monde)

Samson – Fotos: Monika RittershausClaus Guth and Raphaël Pichon did not want to reconstruct the original work, but to revive the spirit of this extraordinary project. They combined a powerful and noble narrative with impressive music. Samson is God’s chosen one, but his extraordinary strength isolates him and sets him apart from others. Through a series of disappointing love affairs, his power turns into a destructive force and he becomes the first suicide assassin in history.

An expert in musical montage, Raphaël Pichon was able to erase the seams of this new patchwork, and link acoustic baroque music to pre-recorded sound design by Mathis Nitschke: ambiences and sound effects that weave other links between the audience and this stage where a story unfolds between two times, that of 2024 and the other, not really defined, where Samson is looking for a place between the Hebrews who have chosen him as their leader, and the Philistines who keep the Hebrews in slavery. (Telerama.fr)

Surrounded by Jarrett Ott, Jacquelyn Stucker and Lea Desandre in the leading roles, the Pygmalion choir and orchestra become fully-fledged actors in a sublime, extraordinarily topical fresco.

The production is accomplished and precise, demonstrating an exceptional sense of stagecraft: set design, lighting and movement are all to the point, even when the chorus and dancers move in slow motion, striking freeze-frames as the violence erupts. (Le Figaro)

I have contributed sound compositions based on the improvisational playing of percussionists in early music. In this tradition, wind and weather are presented in a musical-dramatic way, and there is a certain competition to see who can build the most interesting instruments and achieve the most impressive effects. Mathias Lachenmayr, percussionist of the ensemble der/gelbe/klang, of which I am also a member, is a master at playing prepared percussion instruments. In two night sessions, we recorded a large amount of material, for example extremely low-tuned timpani played with a superball. These sounds form the bridge between the live orchestra and a sound world that is more familiar from films and games.

Audiences loved the Marvel-style special effects illustrating the hero’s Herculean feats, with laser beams sweeping across stage and audience, saturated flashes of light streaking across space to reveal sumptuous, epic, post-traumatic pictorial scenes, set to an Apocalypse soundtrack weighted down with percussive effects and explosions. (Le Monde)

On July 12, the evening will be broadcast live on Arte.tv:
https://www.arte.tv/fr/videos/RC-014822/festival-d-aix-en-provence/

On the day of the premiere at lunchtime there was an audience discussion with my participation:

the Festival d’Aix confirms its ability to position itself at the forefront of the world’s lyrical creation. (La Provence)

Info: https://festival-aix.com/en/programmation/opera/samson

SAMSON

JEAN-PHILIPPE RAMEAU (1683-1764)

WORLD PREMIERE FESTIVAL D’AIX-EN-PROVENCE
A COPRODUCTION WITH THÉÂTRE NATIONAL DE L’OPÉRA-COMIQUE

CONDUCTOR AND MUSICAL CONCEPT
Raphaël Pichon

STAGE DIRECTION, CONCEPT AND SCENARIO
Claus Guth

SET DESIGN
Étienne Pluss

COSTUME DESIGN
Ursula Kudrna

LIGHTING DESIGN AND VIDEO
Bertrand Couderc

CHOREOGRAPHY
Sommer Ulrickson

SOUND DESIGN
Mathis Nitschke

EDITORIAL ASSOCIATE
Eddy Garaudel

DRAMATURGY
Yvonne Gebauer

CONDUCTOR’S ASSISTANT
David Belkovski

VOCAL COACH, HARPSICHORD
Ronan Khalil

STAGING ASSISTANTS
Juana Inés Cano Restrepo, Romain Gilbert

SET DESIGN ASSISTANT
Manuel La Casta

COSTUME ASSISTANT
Louise-Fee Nitschke

DANCE CAPTAIN
Evie Poaros

SAMSON
Jarrett Ott

DALILA
Jacquelyn Stucker

TIMNA
Lea Desandre

ACHISCH
Nahuel di Pierro

ELON
Laurence Kilsby

L’ANGE
Julie Roset

PREMIER JUGE / UN CONVIVE
Antonin Rondepierre

LA MÈRE DE SAMSON
Andréa Ferréol

SAMSON JEUNE
Gabriel Coullaud-Rosseel

UN SANS-ABRI
Pascal Lifschutz

DANCERS
Gal Fefferman, Theo Emil Krausz, Victoria McConnell, Manuel Meza, Rouven Pabst, Francesco Pacelli, Dan Pelleg, Marion Plantey, Evie Poaros, Robin Rohrmann, Victor Villarreal, Marko Weigert

EXTRAS
Alexandre Charlet, Arnaud Fiore, Jacky Kumanovic

CHOIR AND ORCHESTRA
Pygmalion

Im Jahr 1733 arbeiteten Voltaire, der klügste Denker seiner Zeit, und Rameau, der größte Komponist zusammen. Gemeinsam wollten sie die Opernkunst reformieren und schufen das Opernstück „Samson“ auf Grundlage der biblischen Geschichte. Doch das Libretto wurde als anstößig empfunden und zensiert, und die Musik ging verloren. Nur Fragmente tauchten später in anderen Werken wieder auf.

In der Luft schweben und kreisen die Klänge wie unheilvolle Vögel, Infrabässe und das leichte Klingeln von äolischem Bambus, die vom Sounddesigner Mathis Nitschke entfaltet werden. (Le Monde)

Samson – Fotos: Monika Rittershaus

Regisseur Claus Guth und Dirigent Raphaël Pichon wollten nicht das ursprüngliche Werk rekonstruieren, sondern den Geist dieses außergewöhnlichen Projekts wiederbeleben. Samson ist der Auserwählte Gottes, aber seine außergewöhnliche Kraft isoliert ihn und unterscheidet ihn von anderen. Durch eine Reihe von enttäuschenden Liebschaften verwandelt sich seine Macht in eine zerstörerische Kraft, und so wird er zum ersten Selbstmordattentäter der Geschichte.

Raphaël Pichon, der Experte für Musikmontage, hat die Nähte dieses neuen Patchworks verwischt und die akustische Barockmusik mit dem von Mathis Nitschke konzipierten voraufgezeichneten Sounddesign verbunden: Atmosphären und Soundeffekte, die weitere Verbindungen zwischen dem Publikum und dieser Bühne knüpfen, auf der sich eine Geschichte zwischen zwei Zeiten abspielt, der des Jahres 2024 und der anderen, nicht wirklich definierten, in der Samson seinen Platz zwischen den Hebräern, die ihn zu ihrem Anführer gewählt haben, und den Philistern, die die Hebräer in der Sklaverei halten, sucht. (Telerama.fr)

Umgeben von Jarrett Ott, Jacquelyn Stucker und Lea Desandre in den Hauptrollen werden der Chor und das Orchester Pygmalion zu vollwertigen Akteuren eines sublimen, außergewöhnlich aktuellen Freskos.

Die Umsetzung ist von einer Vollendung und Präzision, die von einem außergewöhnlichen Gespür für die Bühne zeugt: Bühnenbild, Beleuchtung und Bewegungen sind wie am Schnürchen, selbst wenn sich Chorsänger und Tänzer in Zeitlupe bewegen, packende Standbilder im Moment des Ausbruchs der Gewalt. (Le Figaro)

Ich habe Sound-Kompositionen beigetragen, die auf dem improvisierenden Spiel der Perkussionisten in der Alten Musik basieren. In dieser Tradition werden Wind und Wetter musikdramatisch dargestellt, und es herrscht ein gewisser Wettstreit darüber, wer die interessantesten Instrumente baut und die beeindruckendsten Effekte erzielt. Mathias Lachenmayr, Schlagzeuger des Münchner Ensembles für zeitgenössische Musik der/gelbe/klang, dem auch ich angehöre, ist ein Meister im Spiel präparierter Schlaginstrumente. In zwei langen Nachtsessions nahmen wir eine große Menge an Material auf, beispielsweise extrem tief gestimmte Pauken oder Metallplatten, die mit einem Superball gespielt wurden. Diese Sounds bilden die Brücke zwischen dem Live-Orchester und einer Klangwelt, die man eher aus Filmen und Spielen kennt.

Das Publikum war begeistert von den Marvel-Spezialeffekten, die die herkulischen Taten des Helden illustrierten: Laserstrahlen, die über die Bühne und das Publikum hinwegfegten, satte Lichtblitze, die durch den Raum schossen, um die epischen und posttraumatischen Bildszenen zu einem Apokalypse-Soundtrack mit perkussiven Effekten und Explosionen zu entfalten. (Le Monde)

Am 12. Juli wird der Abend live auf Arte.tv übertragen:
https://www.arte.tv/fr/videos/RC-014822/festival-d-aix-en-provence/

Am Tag der Premiere gab es ein Publikumsgespräch mit meiner Beteiligung:

 

Das Festival d’Aix bestätigt damit seine Fähigkeit, zur weltweiten Avantgarde des Opernschaffens zu gehören. (La Provence)

 

Info: https://festival-aix.com/en/programmation/opera/samson

SAMSON

JEAN-PHILIPPE RAMEAU (1683-1764)

WORLD PREMIERE FESTIVAL D’AIX-EN-PROVENCE
A COPRODUCTION WITH THÉÂTRE NATIONAL DE L’OPÉRA-COMIQUE

CONDUCTOR AND MUSICAL CONCEPT
Raphaël Pichon

STAGE DIRECTION, CONCEPT AND SCENARIO
Claus Guth

SET DESIGN
Étienne Pluss

COSTUME DESIGN
Ursula Kudrna

LIGHTING DESIGN AND VIDEO
Bertrand Couderc

CHOREOGRAPHY
Sommer Ulrickson

SOUND DESIGN
Mathis Nitschke

EDITORIAL ASSOCIATE
Eddy Garaudel

DRAMATURGY
Yvonne Gebauer

CONDUCTOR’S ASSISTANT
David Belkovski

VOCAL COACH, HARPSICHORD
Ronan Khalil

STAGING ASSISTANTS
Juana Inés Cano Restrepo, Romain Gilbert

SET DESIGN ASSISTANT
Manuel La Casta

COSTUME ASSISTANT
Louise-Fee Nitschke

DANCE CAPTAIN
Evie Poaros

SAMSON
Jarrett Ott

DALILA
Jacquelyn Stucker

TIMNA
Lea Desandre

ACHISCH
Nahuel di Pierro

ELON
Laurence Kilsby

L’ANGE
Julie Roset

PREMIER JUGE / UN CONVIVE
Antonin Rondepierre

LA MÈRE DE SAMSON
Andréa Ferréol

SAMSON JEUNE
Gabriel Coullaud-Rosseel

UN SANS-ABRI
Pascal Lifschutz

DANCERS
Gal Fefferman, Theo Emil Krausz, Victoria McConnell, Manuel Meza, Rouven Pabst, Francesco Pacelli, Dan Pelleg, Marion Plantey, Evie Poaros, Robin Rohrmann, Victor Villarreal, Marko Weigert

EXTRAS
Alexandre Charlet, Arnaud Fiore, Jacky Kumanovic

CHOIR AND ORCHESTRA
Pygmalion