BMW honoured the 41 best dealers worldwide in 2017 with the Excellence in Sales Award at a ceremony in the BMW Group Classic. For the award ceremony I conceived five musical show acts, which formed a journey through the last 150 years of innovations in musical instrument making.

The saxophone is the last “real” invention in the family of classical musical instruments. Invented 150 years ago by the Belgian Adolphe Sax, the instrument is about as old as the invention of the car. With the invention of the saxophone, Sax wanted to create a woodwind instrument that lies between the warm, flexible sound of the clarinet and the rather penetrating, tumbling sound of the oboe. The award-winning Arcis Saxophone Quartet was founded in 2009 at the Musikhochschule München and is taking the world’s stages by storm.

The theremin was invented in 1920 by the young Russian physicist Léon Theremin as a result of research on proximity sensors funded by the Soviet government. Although not a commercial success, it fascinated audiences worldwide. Some well-known thereminists toured with great success and played a classical repertoire in concert halls. Today the instrument is rediscovered by young virtuosos such as Carolina Eyck in cross-genre settings. She is considered one of the best theremin players in the world.

The 20th century is the century of percussion instruments and innovations. Invented in 2000 by Felix Rohner and Sabina Schärer in Bern, Switzerland, the Hang uses some of the same basic physical principles as the Steel Drum from Trinidad. The name Hang comes from the Swiss word for hand. It is played with hands and fingers instead of mallets. This easier way of playing produces a sound richer in overtones, softer and warmer than the bright sound of a traditional steel drum played with mallets. Nadishana plays over 200 instruments and is one of the three “first calls” worldwide for the Hang.

Beat Boxing is a vocal technique that imitates the drum machines of the 1980’s, especially the Roland TR-808. Since many hip hop fans could not afford drum machines and samplers, beatboxing was the alternative in jam sessions. Meanwhile beat boxing is more than just hip hop. It has become a versatile and independent instrument that has become increasingly complex over the years. The reigning European champion in beatboxing, RoBeat, says: “Beatbox is not a Hip Hop thing, it’s a universal thing!”

My arrangement of Ennio Morricone’s famous film music “The Ecstacy of Gold” for all these exceptional musicians together concluded this award ceremony. “This will be one of the best moments in my career as a BMW retailer,” said not only one of the guests. We are happy hearing that!

Related works:

Corporate events and high artistic standards aren’t contradictions but lead to an outstanding long-standing experience. Check my post about an award ceremony in Rejkjavic >>

Related

BMW ehrte bei einer feierlichen Verleihung in der BMW Group Classic die weltweit 41 besten Händler des Jahres 2017 mit dem Excellence in Sales Award. Für die Preisverleihung konzipierte ich fünf musikalische Showacts, die eine Reise durch die letzten 150 Jahre der Innovationen im Musikinstrumentenbau bildeten.

Das Saxophon ist die letzte „echte“ Erfindung in der Familie der klassischen Musikinstrumente. Vor 150 Jahren vom Belgier Adolphe Sax erfunden, ist das Instrument etwa so alt wie die Erfindung des Autos. Mit der Erfindung des Saxophons wollte Sax ein Holzblasinstrument schaffen, das zwischen dem warmen, flexiblen Klang der Klarinette und dem eher durchdringenden, taumelnden Klang der Oboe liegt. Das vielfach preisgekrönte Arcis Saxophon Quartett gründete sich 2009 an der Musikhochschule München und erobert die Bühnen dieser Welt im Sturm.

Das Theremin wurde 1920 vom jungen russischen Physiker Léon Theremin als Ergebnis einer von der sowjetischen Regierung geförderten Forschung über Näherungssensoren erfunden. Obwohl kein kommerzieller Erfolg, faszinierte es das Publikum weltweit. Einige bekannte Thereministen tourten mit großem Erfolg und spielten ein klassisches Repertoire in Konzertsälen. Heute wird das Instrument von jungen Virtuosen wie Carolina Eyck in genreübergreifenden Settings wiederentdeckt. Sie gilt als eine der besten Theremin Spielerinnen der Welt.

Das 20. Jahrhundert ist das Jahrhundert der Schlaginstrumente und Innovationen. Im Jahr 2000 von Felix Rohner und Sabina Schärer in Bern, Schweiz, erfunden, verwendet das Hang einige der gleichen physikalischen Grundprinzipien wie die Steel Drum aus Trinidad. Der Name Hang kommt vom schweizerischen Wort für Hand. Es wird mit den Händen und Fingern anstelle von Schlägeln gespielt. Diese leichtere Spielweise erzeugt einen obertonreichen Klang, der weicher und wärmer ist als der helle Klang einer traditionellen, mit Schlägeln gespielten Steel Drum. Nadishana spielt über 200 Instrumente und ist einer der drei „First-Calls“ weltweit für die Hang.

Beat Boxing ist eine Vokaltechnik, die die Drum Machines aus den 1980er Jahren imitiert, insbesondere der Roland TR-808. Da sich viele HipHop-Fans Drum Machines und Sampler nicht leisten konnten, war Beatboxing die Alternative in Jamsessions. Mittlerweile ist Beatbox mehr als nur HipHop. Es ist ein vielseitiges und eigenständiges Instrument geworden, das mit den Jahren immer mehr an Komplixität zugenommen hat. Der amtierende Europameister im Beatboxen, RoBeat, sagt: „Beatbox is not a Hip Hop thing, it’s a universal thing!“

Mein Arrangement von Ennio Morricones berühmter Filmmusik „The Ecstacy of Gold“ für alle diese Ausnahmemusiker zusammen schloss diesen Preisverleihungsabend ab. “This will be one of the best moments in my career as a BMW retailer”, sagte nicht nur einer der Gäste. Das freut uns, zu hören!

Verwandte Arbeiten:

Unternehmensevent und künstlerischer Anspruch sind keine Widersprüche sondern führen zu einem herausragenden und lange anhaltenden Erlebnis. Lesen Sie meinen Bericht über einen Festakt in Rejkjavik >>

Related