Constant motion, moving forward, a horizontal development: those are attributes of ECM’s music which founder Manfred Eicher is especially proud of. This horizontal thinking sets his productions apart from a large portion of today’s music which is more to be understood in a vertical way, state by state.

The audio-visual piece “Flow” by Lars Ullrich and Mathis Nitschke for the exhibition RE:ECM at Storage by Hyundai Card in Seoul, 2019, lets the visitor experience this horizontal thinking by involving the visitor into a visualization of the inner movement of the currently playing music.

On the screen, so-called particle systems generate a continuous stream of 3D objects in various forms. The choice of forms, their impulse, their distribution and their speed of movement are selected on the basis of a physical 3D engine, whose parameters are automatically tuned to the music currently being played. By creating an abstract landscape from the music, the visitor can explore its fluid dynamics and be part of its organic behavior: The listener is literally drawn into the music.

Seven repeating visualization styles are applied to nine repeating music tracks. So, over time, you can see each visualization style reacting to each music track.

The selection of music tracks represents the variety and contrast of ECM’s catalogue. Next to historic landmark recordings like the ones with Bennie Maupin, Paul Bley or Arvo Pärt, more recent pieces are selected. Also present here is a recording of Bruno Ganz reciting a poem by Friedrich Hölderlin which marks an interesting radicalization of the horizontal development idea: Even in language the musical forward motion can be found.

Related

Ständige Bewegung, Vorwärtskommen, horizontale Entwicklung: Das sind Attribute der Musik von ECM Records, auf die Gründer Manfred Eicher besonders stolz ist. Dieses horizontale Denken unterscheidet seine Produktionen von einem großen Teil der heutigen Musik, der eher vertikal zu verstehen ist, Zustand für Zustand.

Das audiovisuelle Stück „Flow“ von Lars Ullrich und Mathis Nitschke für die Ausstellung RE:ECM im Storage by Hyundai Card in Seoul, 2019, lässt den Besucher dieses horizontale Denken erleben, indem es den Besucher in eine Visualisierung der inneren Bewegung der aktuell spielenden Musik einbezieht.

Auf dem Bildschirm erzeugen so genannte Partikelsysteme einen kontinuierlichen Strom von 3D-Objekten in verschiedenen Formen. Die Auswahl der Formen, ihr Impuls, ihre Verteilung und ihre Bewegungsgeschwindigkeit erfolgen auf der Grundlage einer physikalischen 3D-Engine, deren Parameter automatisch auf die aktuell gespielte Musik abgestimmt werden. Durch die Schaffung einer abstrakten Landschaft aus der Musik kann der Besucher ihre fließende Dynamik erforschen und Teil ihres organischen Verhaltens sein: Der Zuhörer wird in die Musik hineingezogen.

Sieben sich wiederholende Visualisierungsstile werden auf neun sich wiederholende Musiktitel angewendet. So können Sie im Laufe der Zeit sehen, wie jeder Visualisierungsstil auf jeden Musiktitel reagiert.

Die Auswahl der Musiktitel repräsentiert die Vielfalt und den Kontrast des ECM-Katalogs. Neben historischen Meilensteinaufnahmen wie denen mit Bennie Maupin, Paul Bley oder Arvo Pärt werden auch neuere Stücke ausgewählt. Ebenfalls hier zu erleben ist eine Aufnahme von Bruno Ganz mit einem Gedicht von Friedrich Hölderlin, das eine interessante Radikalisierung der horizontalen Entwicklungsidee markiert: Auch in der Sprache findet man die musikalische Vorwärtsbewegung.

Related