The game of ping-pong can be regarded as a metaphor for many aspects in music production: the interaction between producer and musician(s), the give and take between the musicians themselves, but also the active interplay between the listener and the music.

Installation view of RE:ECM at Storage by Hyundai Card, 2019, Photo: Byung-Chul Chun

Mathis Nitschke’s piece “Small Places” presents the entire music catalogue ever produced by ECM Records as a sound installation using this metaphor. On a slightly raised stage designed after a ping-pong table the visitors sit down and listen to the near endless stream of ECM music, a total of ca. 1380 hours (almost two months). Beginning with the first ECM album ever produced in 1969, “Free at last” by the Mal Waldron Trio, the music won’t even stop during closing times of the gallery.

On the stage, the visitors sit opposite of each other, looking face to face, only divided by thin gauze. Going back and forth like a ping-pong ball, light changes from music track to music track illuminate alternately the visitors on the one side of the stage, then on the other, each time transforming the listener into an actor and vice-versa. The listening visitor becomes the art object.

 

Between each album a minute of ping-pong playing sound is heard. Once the playlist reached the latest album released in 2019, the installation will return to the beginning, album by album. During this backward motion the intermitting ping-pong sound is played back reversed.

Visit https://smallplaces.art

On the website https://smallplaces.art you can not only listen along the installation on location live from all over the world, you can also see the schedule of albums to be played.

Reference to the installation is a snapshot photo by sound engineer Peter Laenger showing Keith Jarrett and Manfred Eicher in a break from music recording, playing ping-pong. The title “Small Places” refers to the album of the same title by Michael Formanek (2012), containing the track “Pong”.

Keith Jarrett and Manfred Eicher playing ping-pong, photo: Peter Laenger

Credits:

“Small Places” is a commission from Hyundai Card, 2019, for the exhibition RE:ECM at Storage by Hyundai Card, Seoul, curated by Jean Im, Hyunseuk Kim and Sun Chung.

Music and album covers used with kind permission and support from ECM Records. All copyright by ECM Records 1969-2019.

Concept & Design: Mathis Nitschke

Programming: Michael Klier

Many thanks to Manfred Eicher for his unbelievable, so far 50-year-old oeuvre!

See also this blog post on the creation of Small Places: … and the music keeps on playing on and on …

Related

Das Tischtennisspiel kann als Metapher für viele Aspekte der Musikproduktion gesehen werden: die Interaktion zwischen Produzent und Musiker(n), das Geben und Nehmen zwischen den Musikern selbst, aber auch das aktive Wechselspiel zwischen dem Hörer und der Musik.

Installationsansicht von RE:ECM bei Storage by Hyundai Card, 2019, Foto: Byung-Chul Chun

Mathis Nitschkes Stück „Small Places“ präsentiert den gesamten jemals von ECM Records produzierten Musikkatalog als Klanginstallation unter Verwendung dieser Metapher. Auf einer leicht erhöhten Bühne, die nach einem Tischtennis-Tisch gestaltet wurde, setzen sich die Besucher hin und hören dem fast endlosen Strom von ECM-Musik zu, insgesamt ca. 1380 Stunden (fast zwei Monate). Beginnend mit dem ersten 1969 produzierten ECM-Album „Free at last“ des Mal Waldron Trios hört die Musik auch während der Schließzeiten der Galerie nicht auf.

Auf der Bühne sitzen sich die Besucher gegenüber, schauen von Angesicht zu Angesicht, nur durch dünne Gaze getrennt. Wie ein Tischtennisball hin und hergehend, beleuchtet das Licht von Musikstück zu Musikstück abwechselnd die Besucher auf der einen Seite der Bühne, dann auf der anderen, wodurch der Zuhörer jedes Mal in einen Mitwirkenden verwandelt wird und umgekehrt. So wird der zuhörende Besucher zum Kunstobjekt.

 

Zwischen den einzelnen Alben ist eine Minute lang Tischtennisspielen zu hören. Sobald die Playlist das letzte Album erreicht hat, das 2019 veröffentlicht wurde, kehrt die Installation zum Anfang zurück, Album für Album. Während dieser Rückwärtsbewegung wird der dazwischen liegende Tischtennis-Sound rückwärts wiedergegeben.

Besuchen Sie https://smallplaces.art

Auf der Website https://smallplaces.art können Sie nicht nur die Installation vor Ort aus aller Welt live mitverfolgen, sondern auch den Zeitplan der zu spielenden Alben einsehen.

Als Referenz für die Installation dient ein Schnappschuss-Foto des Toningenieurs Peter Laenger, das Keith Jarrett und Manfred Eicher in einer Pause von der Musikaufnahme beim Tischtennisspielen zeigt. Der Titel „Small Places“ bezieht sich auf das gleichnamige Album von Michael Formanek (2012), das den Track „Pong“ beinhaltet.

Keith Jarrett und Manfred Eicher spielen Tischtennis, Foto: Peter Laenger

Credits:

„Small Places“ ist ein Auftrag von Hyundai Card, 2019, für die Ausstellung RE:ECM im Storage by Hyundai Card, Seoul, kuratiert von Jean Im, Hyunseuk Kim und Sun Chung.

Musik und Albencover verwendet mit freundlicher Genehmigung und Unterstützung von ECM Records. All copyright by ECM Records 1969-2019.

Konzept & Design: Mathis Nitschke

Programmierung: Michael Klier

Vielen Dank an Manfred Eicher für sein unglaubliches, bisher 50-jähriges Gesamtwerk!

Beachten Sie auch diesen Blog post über die Entstehung von Small Places: … und die Musik spielt immer weiter …

Related