VERGEHEN is an opera that you walk. Simply download the VERGEHEN app to your smartphone, take your headphones and walk at the Munich river Isar. You can walk VERGEHEN on any day at any time and in any weather.

A walk with your smartphone

Imagine that you take a walk at the river Isar in Munich. Your smartphone starts a conversation, involving you in a discourse about memories and the past. How would that sound?

It’s almost a pact: the smartphone lets us participate in the seemingly endless treasures of information and knowledge, all from a small personal companion. In return, we reveal our innermost and core, and – through touch – we practice some peculiar form of intimacy with it.

The audio walk VERGEHEN (Passing) engages with this topic from the futuristic perspective of a utopian technical promise: our experiences can be saved and replayed forever with a brain wave recorder, the memory will be indistinguishable from the original experience. So far, we had to painstakingly translate our experiences and emotions into language, art or music to be able to communicate them. With such a machine that wouldn’t be necessary anymore. Is that really something to desire? That’s one of the questions asked in VERGEHEN.

Trailer in 360° (with subtitles)

An opera that you walk

By using its GPS receiver the smartphone knows where you are located. The app is using this information to adapt the music to your specific location and the pacing of your strolling. You decide on the performance date and duration.

Click the banner for link:



Please be aware that the app is German only. Download the English translation of the libretto here.

The text as well as the music were conceived by Mathis Nitschke exactly to the chosen way from the cascades below the Maximilianeum over the bridge called “Kabelsteg” to the Museumsinsel, in doing so turning the public space into an artistic space. The local conditions are reflected in the words, just like the music processes the sounds of the environment; a path from one rushing sound of water to the next one, from noise to noise.

Musically, VERGEHEN combines the classical voice of Sarah Aristidou with a hybrid of acoustic and processed cello played by Anja Lechner, analogue techno electronics and digital sound art by Mathis Nitschke. At times bringing to mind the drive of popular electric cello ensembles, then paying homage to the heritage of musique concrète, then again delivering allusions to jazz and world music, composer Mathis Nitschke doesn’t tie himself down to one genre.

Credits

Anja Lechner
Sarah Aristidou

Soprano: Sarah Aristidou
Narrators: Sarah Aristidou, Mathis Nitschke, Google Android
Cello: Anja Lechner
Concept, Composition: Mathis Nitschke

Programming: Nicola Paul Hahn, Mathis Nitschke
Logo: Anja Gerscher
CD Artwork: Bettina Stickel

Text: Mathis Nitschke, freely using motives and paraphrases out of Douglas Trumbull’s movie “Brainstorm”, Benjamin Stein’s novel “Replay” (C. H. Beck) and most of all Judith N. Klein’s essay “Rückkehr nach Lindeira” (Neues Literaturkontor)

Translation: Alex Schmidt
Additional samples out of productions with Mathis Mayr (cello) und Gabriel Hahn (drums)

Made possible by the city of Munich’s “Projektstipendium Junge Kunst / Neue Medien für Musik 2015”.

Related works:

Please see also the (German) project website: www.vergehen.net >>
If you can’t make it to the Munich river Isar, check the Virtual Reality Trailer: VERGEHEN VR Trailer >>
The worlds first Augmented Reality Opera: MAYA >>>
For another approach to opera in public space, check VIOLA >>

Related

VERGEHEN ist eine Oper, die man sich erläuft. Laden Sie einfach die VERGEHEN App auf Ihr Smartphone, nehmen einen Kopfhörer mit und gehen an die Münchner Isar. VERGEHEN kann man sich an jedem Tag zu jeder Zeit und bei jedem Wetter erlaufen.

Ein Spaziergang mit dem Smartphone

Stellen Sie sich vor, Ihr Smartphone beginnt ein Gespräch mit Ihnen, verwickelt Sie in einen Diskurs über das Erinnern und Vergehen. Wie würde das klingen?

Es ist doch fast ein Faust’scher Pakt: das Smartphone lässt uns teilhaben an einem unendlich anmutenden Informations- und Wissensschatz, in Form eines kleinen persönlichen Begleiters. Im Gegenzug offenbaren wir ihm unser Persönlichstes und Innerstes und üben über die Berührung eine eigentümliche Form von Intimität damit aus.

Der Hörspaziergang VERGEHEN beschäftigt sich mit diesem Thema aus der futuristischen Sicht eines utopischen technischen Versprechens. Unsere Erlebnisse können mit einem Hirnstromrekorder für immer so konserviert und wiedergeben werden, daß wir die Erinnerung nicht mehr vom originalen Erlebnis unterscheiden können. Bisher müssen wir unsere Erfahrungen und Erlebnisse mühsam in Sprache, Kunst und Musik übersetzen, um sie kommunizierbar zu machen. Das wäre mit so einer Maschine nicht mehr nötig. Ob man das nun wirklich will, ist eine der Fragen, die VERGEHEN stellt.

 

Trailer in 360°

Eine Oper, die man sich erläuft

Durch den GPS-Empfänger weiß VERGEHEN, wo Sie sich gerade befinden. Als App passt sich die Musik adaptiv der Position, Bewegungsrichtung und Gehgeschwindigkeit des Spaziergängers an, kein Opernspaziergang gleicht dem anderen. Sie bestimmen den Aufführungstermin und die Aufführungsdauer.

Klicken Sie die Graphiken an:



Sowohl der Text wie auch die Musik wurden von Mathis Nitschke auf einen gewählten Weg von den Kaskaden unterhalb des Maximilianeums über die Brücke Kabelsteg bis zur Museumsinsel so genau abgestimmt, daß sich der öffentliche Raum zum künstlerischen Raum verwandelt. Der Text nimmt Bezug auf die örtlichen Gegebenheiten, genauso wie die Klänge die dortigen Geräusche verarbeiten; ein Pfad vom Rauschen ins Rauschen.

Musikalisch kombiniert „Vergehen“ klassischen Gesang (Sarah Aristidou) mit einem Hybrid aus akustischem und verfremdeten Cello (Anja Lechner), analoger Techno-Elektronik und digitaler Klangkunst (Mathis Nitschke). Zeitweise an den Drive populärer E-Cello-Formationen erinnernd, mal die Erbschaften der Musique Concrète huldigend, dann wiederum Allusionen an Jazz und Weltmusik liefernd, legt sich die Komposition von Mathis Nitschke auf kein Genre fest.

Fragen?

Technische Fragen zur App werden hier beantwortet: >>>
Für Fragen zur Entstehung und zu den Hintergründen von VERGEHEN hier entlang: >>>

Mitwirkende

Anja Lechner
Sarah Aristidou

Sopran: Sarah Aristidou
Sprecher: Sarah Aristidou, Mathis Nitschke, Google Android
Cello: Anja Lechner
Konzept, Komposition: Mathis Nitschke

Programmierung: Nicola Paul Hahn, Mathis Nitschke
Logo: Anja Gerscher
CD Artwork: Bettina Stickel

Text: Mathis Nitschke, unter freier Verwendung von Motiven und Paraphrasen aus Douglas Trumbulls Film „Projekt Brainstorm“, Benjamin Steins Roman „Replay“ (C.H.Beck) und vor allem Judith N. Kleins Essay „Rückkehr nach Lindeira“ (Neues Literaturkontor)

Zusätzliche Samples aus Produktionen mit Mathis Mayr (Cello) und Gabriel Hahn (Schlagzeug)

Ermöglicht durch das Projektstipendium Junge Kunst / Neue Medien für Musik 2015 der Landeshauptstadt München

Verwandte Arbeiten:

Besuchen Sie auch die Projektwebseite: www.vergehen.net >>
Wenn Sie nicht nach München an die Isar kommen können: VERGEHEN VR TRAILER >>
Die weltweit erste Augmented Reality Oper: MAYA >>
Für einen anderen Ansatz einer Oper im öffentlichen Raum: VIOLA >>

Related