sound designer, composer, director

German Souls – Life after the Colonia Dignidad

Rüdiger was a child, Aki two months old and Kurt the deputy head of the paedophile sect. They came to Chile in 1962 together with 500 other German sect members and lived locked away from the world for over 40 years. The documentary by Martin Farkas and Matthias Zuber tells about the attempt to continue as a collective after decades of crimes such as torture and murder. I took over the sound design and mixing.

The Trial

Andreas Kriegenburg's stage design (Münchner Kammerspiele) works with two layers: a wall just a few metres behind the front edge of the stage creates a claustrophobically close-fitting apron, into which an initially upright revolving stage is built. When this is lowered, a further space opens to the rear. The staging was completely microphoned and amplified so that the actors could strike a non-declamatory note. I translated the perspectives of the stage design into different sound levels and perspectives.

The Possibility of an Island

Michel Houellebecq filmed his novel "The Possibility of an Island" himself. In several years of collaboration, even before the actual shooting, I composed the film music for orchestra, choir, soloists and band.

Troilus and Cressida

Empty stage, no music, it rains (director and room: Luk Perceval). The scene changes and the sound of the speech became audible through different acoustic spaces. We installed nine microphones hanging from the Schnürboden, through which the voices of the actors were amplified and alienated. From the sounds of the raindrops we created musical atmospheres. A small guitar plays in addition.

Sound design for film

Around the turn of the millennium I was a freelance sound designer for feature films by (among others) Dominik Graf, Jo Baier and Paul Anderson, working at the sound post facilities by ARRI and Bavaria Film. Watch some examples here.

„Resident Evil“ – Kyma as monster vocoder

Supervising Sound Editor Nigel Holland asked me to use Kyma Sound Processing to help create the sound of the Licker monster from Paul Anderson's movie "Resident Evil". Nigel took an English vocal artist, Pete, as his basis, who first drank two litres of full-cream milk and then roared it into a monster-like arrangement of buckets and pipes. We developed a Dual-MonoVocoder with two times 50 bands, which was fed at the input with different loops of animal sounds and other diagonal tones.

Sounddesigner, Komponist, Regisseur

Der Prozess

Andreas Kriegenburgs Bühnenbild (Münchner Kammerspiele) arbeitet mit zwei Ebenen: eine Wand nur wenige Meter hinter der Bühnenvorderkante schafft eine klaustrophobisch eng zugebaute Vorbühne, in die eine zunächst aufrecht gestellte Drehbühne eingebaut ist. Wenn diese herabgelassen wird, öffnet sich ein weiter Raum nach hinten. Die Inszenierung wurde komplett mikrofoniert und verstärkt, damit die Schauspieler einen nicht deklamatorischen Ton anschlagen konnten. Die Perspektiven des Bühnenbilds übersetzte ich in verschiedene Tonebenen und -perspektiven.

Die Möglichkeit einer Insel

Seinen Roman "Die Möglichkeit einer Insel" verfilmte Michel Houellebecq selbst. In mehrjähriger Zusammenarbeit, auch schon vor dem eigentlichen Dreh, komponierte ich dafür die Filmmusik für Orchester, Chor, Solisten und Band.

Troilus und Cressida

Leere Bühne, keine Musik, es regnet (Regie und Raum: Luk Perceval). Die Szenenwechsel und der Klang der Sprache wurden durch verschiedene akustische Räume hörbar. Wir installierten neun aus dem Schnürboden hängende Mikrofone, über die die Schauspieler verstärkt und verfremdet wurden. Aus den Geräuschen der Regentropfen erstellten wir musikalische Atmosphären. Eine kleine Gitarre spielt dazu.

Tongestaltung für Film

Um die Jahrtausendwende herum war ich freiberuflicher Tongestalter / Sounddesigner für Spielfilme von u.a. Dominik Graf, Jo Baier oder Josef Vilsmaier bei den Tonstudios von Arri und Bavaria Film. Sehen Sie sich hier ein paar Beispiele an.

„Resident Evil“ – Kyma als Monstervocoder

Supervising Sound Editor Nigel Holland bat mich, mit Kyma-Soundprocessing den Klang des Licker-Monsters aus Paul Andersons Film „Resident Evil“ mitzugestalten. Als Grundlage nahm Nigel einen englischen Stimmkünstler auf, Pete, der zunächst zwei Liter Vollmilch trank, um dann monstergerecht in ein Arrangement aus Eimern und Rohren zu röhren. Wir entwickelten einen Dual-MonoVocoder mit zwei Mal 50 Bändern, der am Input mit verschiedenen Loops aus Tierlauten und anderen schrägen Tönen gefüttert wurde.