sound designer, composer, director

BMW – Excellence in Sales 2017

BMW honoured the 41 best dealers worldwide in 2017 with the Excellence in Sales Award at a ceremony in the BMW Group Classic. For the award ceremony I conceived five musical show acts, which formed a journey through the last 150 years of innovations in musical instrument making.

Living in Demmin

Martin Farkas shows a city left alone with its history. His film tells a completely uneducated and open story of fear, peer pressure and historical trauma, xenophobia, false mourning and the political abuse of emotions. And it shows how strongly the present is connected with the past.

NEWSLETTER

MAYA – Mixed-Reality-Techno-Opera

As the worlds first Augmented Reality opera, MAYA staged the former heating plant Munich-Aubing as a historic site. Through the AR-app on the own smartphone, the spectator betook himself in the perspective of a new civilization in the distant future, and looked back in amazement on the demise of our current civilization in the near future.

VIOLA

The audience sits in the pharmacy and looks through the shop windows onto Pasing Station Square. Viola, an apparently sad and disoriented woman, appears on the scene. She seems to be in shock, having lost touch with time and space: "Is that inside or outside now? Is it still yesterday today?"

Follow me

Connect

Happy Happy

There is no alternative. The public debate is under the seal of fatalism. There is no other objective than that of universal restrictions. Happy Happy brings together, in a sort of cabinet of wonders, impressions, quotations and scenes to become the plea for autonomy and co-humanity. The opera, written for a singer and a chorus, explores, in so doing, the connection between individual and crowd. It turns out that the person's singing gets lost in the hot-tempered aspiration of the multitude at the celebration. And life goes on. Happy Happy. (Commissioned by the National Opera Montpellier)

Musica Viva

Live sound design for concerts of the Musica Viva series of the Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunk, e.g. on 6 February 2014 with Helmut Lachenmann and Peter Eötvös in the Herkulessaal of the Residenz Munich.

JETZT

'JETZT' (commissioned by the National Opera Montpellier) tries to tell the history of thought in a poetological way. Human being in relation to nature and his surrounding is in constant change. Man is re-inventing himself again and again by inventing new descriptions of himself and his surrounding. By those descriptions we can observe the changes in the past human history. It's the transformation of language use through human history which is the subject matter of this opera. Seven epochs are chosen. Short scenes about death interconnect those seven epochs.

Sounddesigner, Komponist, Regisseur

Über die Entstehung von VERGEHEN

Die Isar und insbesondere dieser Spazierweg am Auer Mühlbach und über den Kabelsteg haben mein ganzes Leben begleitet und geprägt. So wie das Wasser unaufhörlich die Isar hinunterfließt – mal wenig, mal viel – geht das Leben halt so seinen Gang. Momente verbinden sich mit der Isar, jeder erneute Spaziergang bringt Vergangenes in Erinnerung. Diesen Prozess wollte ich auf poetische Weise erfahrbar machen.

Ansichten eines Clowns

Die Beziehung Hans Schniers zu seiner Freundin Marie ist Vergangenheit. Doch er kann sie nicht loslassen. Immer und immer wieder wird er von alptraumhaften Bildern und Figuren seines früheren Lebens heimgesucht. Es wütet in ihm und er wütet mit. Aus der inneren Emigration heraus verteidigt er seine Wertmaßstäbe gegen die bundesdeutsche Restaurationsgesellschaft. Inszenierung von Thomas Jonigk am Schauspiel Köln.

KATHARINA

Wertlos. Ortlos. Katharina hat alles verloren: den Liebhaber, den Job, die Wohnung. Sie kämpft gegen das Vergessenwerden an und entwickelt darüber extreme, gehässige Energien. Das geschäftige Treiben auf der Münchner Freiheit dient als Bühne für eine Kunstfigur, die im Begriff ist, die normativen Grenzen gesellschaftlichen Verhaltens endgültig zu überschreiten.

VIOLA

Das Publikum sitzt in der Apotheke und blickt durch die Schaufenster auf den Pasinger Bahnhofplatz. Dort taucht Viola auf, eine offenbar traurige und desorientierte Frau. Sie scheint unter Schock zu stehen, den Bezug zu Zeit und Raum verloren zu haben: „Ist das jetzt Innen oder Aussen? Ist heute noch gestern?“

Folgen Sie mir

Connect

Happy Happy

Alternativlos. Die öffentlichen Diskussionen sind von Fatalismus geprägt. Es gibt keine Ziele mehr jenseits des Sparzwangs. In einer Art Wunderkammer versammelt HAPPY HAPPY Eindrücke, Zitate und Szenen zu einem Plädoyer an die geistige Selbständigkeit und die Mit-Menschlichkeit. Die Oper ist für eine Sängerin und Chor konzipiert, das Verhältnis zwischen Individuum und Menge erforschend. Das Lied des Einzelnen verliert sich in der Partywut der Vielen. Das Leben geht weiter. Happy Happy. (Auftrag der Nationaloper Montpellier)

Musica Viva

Klangregie für Konzerte der Musica Viva Reihe des Symphonieorchesters des Bayerischen Rundfunk, z.B. am 6. Februar 2014 mit Helmut Lachenmann und Peter Eötvös im Herkulessaal der Residenz München.